My recommendations for the ARRT CT Registry

My recommendations for the ARRT CT Registry:

These are the materials I’ve gathered as resources for the ARRT CT registry. If you are looking for material from the ARRT about the registry,  you need to download these pdf files from the ARRT site.

If your a member of the ASRT here are probably the best study guides for the registry $$$$ ASRT CT Registry Review

Best Study Review book: Mosby’s Exam Review for Computed Tomography, 2e [Paperback] by Daniel N. DeMaio BS RT(R)(CT) $$$$ Amazon

Online CT Review Courses: CTtutor $$$$ I just added this site, and highly recommend that you visit and check it out.

Medical Imaging Consultants MIC $$$$ ( There have been very many technologists who have had success with this course, including tech’s that I worked with in the past).

Outstanding online learning web sites: CTisus Multi-slice helical CT physics and technology, (older information, but a good resource)

Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Contrast (From CTISUS)

If you have any questions about the registry or these web sites please let me know, I would by happy to try and answer them for you.

34 comments on “My recommendations for the ARRT CT Registry

  1. Hello,
    I am going to start an externship in a few months for CT. I have very little experience in CT and only took a couple credit hours of CT classes while earning my bachelors degree in radiation sciences. Do you have a recommendation of a book for me to study out of before taking my externship, while also preparing for boards? I was recommended MIC’s program, but I wasn’t sure which course/book to get since there are a few options on their website. Thanks for your help.

  2. Logan,
    All the sites that I’ve listed in the post are good references for CT. If your going to order the MIC course I recommend the CT cross trainer it is a well developed program, I’ve recommended it to all tech’s I’ve trained in CT over the years.
    The MDCT link doesn’t work they went off line in the beginning of the year. I probably need to edit this post.
    Anyway, I wish you the best in your externship, and if I can be of any further assistance please let me know.

    • Hello,

      I recently started crosstraining in Ct from x-ray. I do not even know where to begin. I am borrowing the MIC cross trainer from a friend but where do I go for anatomy? and is the MIC enough information for the CT boards? It seems almost like an introduction.

      Thanks!!

      • Stephen- make sure that you are using up to date material. I know CTtutor.com upgrades their website every year. We are adding about 40% more content this year. I would be glad to give you a 24- hour FREE pass to see if this program will benefit you. Give me a call @ 828.633.0482 and I will set you up. I hope this helps you and let me know if I can help you.

    • Hello,
      I recently started crosstraining in Ct from x-ray. I do not even know where to begin. I am borrowing the MIC cross trainer from a friend but where do I go for anatomy? and is the MIC enough information for the CT boards? It seems almost like an introduction.

      Thanks!!

  3. I god my radiology tech licence recently, and I took sectional Anatomy course..i need to take CT tech licencing test in the coming 4 months, because since 2016 , a 16 crdit hrs classes will be mandatory. I will just focus on Mosby’s Exam Review for Computed Tomography, 2e [Paperback] by Daniel N. DeMaio, will it be ok?

  4. Hi there I am currently cross training in CT and need to take my registry by December would you recommend the MIC CT cross trainer or the registry review class? thank you

  5. Looking for someone to tutor privately for the CT registry. I have a staff member that is having a difficult time passing. His last attempt he got a 65. Long Island area. Do you know of anyone I can contact?

    • Christine,
      I’m not familiar with anyone in your area of the country, but hopefully someone will see this thread and respond to your request.

  6. I just finished the MIC registry review, and it was great. I am wondering if it is worth it to purchase the sectional anatomy portion of the MIC program or if there are any other resources less expensive to go by. I just don’t know how IN DEPTH with the anatomy/physiology/pathology I need to go. There is a website a coworker of mine is using called http://www.w-radiology.com, could anyone that has taken the registry let me know if this is substantial enough? I’m pretty confident with the day to day anatomy you see per shift, but knowing all the different intricate parts of the brain need to be refreshed as well as other anatomy parts that I don’t identify with much. Any info would be much appreciated!

  7. Hey CT techs, CTtutor.com is a good online CT registry review. Since 2010, we have helped over 5,000 techs pass their boards. Give me a call and I would be glad to help. Call me and I will give you a FREE 3-day pass. 828.633.0482

  8. I opened up my coworker’s MIC and closed it right back up. I am scheduled to take my CT boards in March and I have 10 years of doing CT for my rural hospital. I have been using Moseby’s exam review for Computed Tomography. I have also utilized the Evolve Elsevier online bank of questions. I’m ranging 85-90 percent each time now, but feel I’ve memorized many answers. Will the Moseby’s be sufficient enough?

      • Chris is this offer still valid? I am in the process of studing for my boards as well and would like to give your site a try.

    • Cass,
      I believe that with your years of experience in CT, studying the Mosby’s exam review and Elsevier should be adequate in passing the ARRT certification exam.
      I want to wish you the best in taking the boards in March, and your future in the radiology field. Please let us know how you did on the exam.

      • I’m still waiting for my exam results to come in the mail, but I got a preliminary score of 88 so hopefully that’s good news! 👍🏻

    • I haven’t been doing CT as long as you, but the primary study material I am using is the Moseby’s. I have been scoring pretty well on the practice online exams 80-90% as well. Is this the only study material I need? I sit for my exam in 1 week and feel the same way you do, I feel like I have memorized a lot of the answers.

    • Did you feel that Mosby would have been enough? I am taking my CT boards in 1 week and have been using Mosby but I am wondering right now if Its not enough?

  9. Haven’t been doing CT that long and I have using mostly Moseby’s Review book. I have been scoring between 80-90% on the online practice exams. I feel like I have memorized a lot of the questions as well. Is this study material going to enough?

    • Tamara,
      I see in your reply to Cass, that you will be sitting for your boards in 1 week. So the study aids I have listed may not help you now. Mosby’s is an excellent review, and your online scores seem exceptional. I wish you the best on your boards, and your future in the radiology field. Please let us know how you did on the boards.

  10. I have been using Arst Ct series and Ct Tutor online and I love both of them . Ct Tutor even has games when your just tired of taking test over and over again. I take my boards next week so hopefully it was enough information to pass .

    • Thank you for your comments, I believe you have selected two of the best courses of study, and you will do well on the boards.
      Wishing you the best on the boards, and your future in the radiology field.

    • Di,
      Thank you for your nice reference for CTtutor.com. Make sure you take a look at the NEW 8 study guides on Imaging Procedures. Good luck on your CT registry. As always, please call me if you need any help.

      Chris Nelson
      8286330482

      • I am looking at taking my test sometime in the upcoming months. I would love to try out your site to see if it is a good match for me. Do you still offer the 3 days free?

  11. Hi, I have been doing CT for almost 10 years. I just did a registry review test from Mosbys online and only got 60 percent, sort of freaked me out. My employer told me they wanted me to take the CT Registry. A Local college opened up their CT class to me and allowed me to take their course online without the need for clinicals as I am a full time CT Tech. The problem with the class is it is a lot of busy work, and is very disorganized.

    What is the best route for a Tech like me? Should I continue with the college course, by the CT the Basics series from ASRT, buy CT Tutor or do the MTMI webinar? I need the 16 hours either way to be eligible for the test and I believe CT Tutor does not offer that. I have tried MIC before years ago, but I could not get through reading the first book, just didnt like the format. Thanks

  12. I just started at this hospital and CT is now A requirement by Jan 2018 to be registered as a CT tech. I have 9months to take my test. I am ASRT member. So I’m already having to purchase the basic training of the 12 modules (16CE). I’m having to get my 16CE including 125 exams before which is no problem. But I have to basically teach myself about CT. what do you HIGHLY recommend for me to use as my study guide? For the 8-9months I have. I’m in need of help.

Leave a Reply

